Coordinated Incident Management and Safety Committee

The Coordinated Incident Management – Safety Committee raises the visibility of safety in all Coalition activities, and facilitates, supports, and enhances the coordination and implementation of interagency efforts in response to incidents. Within this Committee are Regional HOGs groups — an acronym from the previous committee name of “Highway Operations Group” — which address regional geographies from Maine to Florida.
FHWA’s SHRP2 National Traffic Incident Management Responder Training
USDOT/FHWA has a coordinated, multi-disciplinary training program developed through the second Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP2), and the I-95 Corridor Coalition Regional Highway Operations Groups (HOGs) are pleased to support the national initiative by bringing this training for traffic incident responders to the HOGs Regions. In addition to the Coalition’s sessions, FHWA is conducting these sessions throughout the country.

For more information, click here.
Download National TIM Responder Training brochure (PDF)
Go to SHRP2 Solutions (USDOT/FHWA) webpage

Leadership

CIM Co-Chairs:

Jennifer Portanova
North Carolina DOT
Email: jportanova@ncdot.gov

Coalition Staff Liaison

Denise Markow
TSMO Program Coordinator
I-95 Corridor Coalition
Phone: (301) 789-9088
E-Mail: dmarkow@i95coalition.org

Committee Regions or HOGs

The Coordinated Incident Management – Safety Program Track Committee was originally called the Highways Operations Group or HOGs for short. As a result of the Coalition’s Project #2: Incident Management – Detection, Response and Operations, the HOGs group was divided into five regional groups: New England, Metro New York, Delaware Valley, Potomac and Southern.

There were two major advantages to dividing the larger committee into five regional groups.

Many of the operational issues affected agencies within sub-sections of the corridor. These issues could be better addressed within the regional groups than they could in a corridor-wide group.

Because of the expense and travel time required for everyone throughout the corridor to travel to one location there would be greater participation if more localized meetings could be held that did not require overnight stays.

The HOGs continue to have a corridor-wide annual meeting in which all members gather. For more information, click on the Coalition Calendar.

New England

Co-Chairs:

Tom Reinauer
Southern Maine Regional Planning & Development Commission
E-Mail: treinauer@smpdc.org

Tri-State

Co-Chairs:

Solomon Caviness
North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority
E-Mail: scaviness@njtpa.org

Sal Cowan
New Jersey Department of Transportation
E-Mail: salvatore.cowan@dot.nj.gov

Delaware Valley

Co-Chairs:

Sal Cowan
New Jersey Department of Transportation
Email: salvatore.cowan@dot.nj.gov

Laurie Matkowski
Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission
Email: lmatkowski@dvrpc.org

Mike Pack
Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission
Email: mpack@paturnpike.com

Potomac

Co-Chairs:

Joey Sagal
Maryland State Highway Administration
Email: jsagal@sha.state.md.us

Kamal Suliman
Virginia Department of Transportation
Email: kamal.suliman@vdot.virginia.gov

Southern

Co-Chairs:

Captain Freddy L. Johnson, Jr.
North Carolina Department of Public Safety
E-Mail: Freddy.Johnson@ncdps.gov

Jennifer Portanova
North Carolina Department of Transportation
Email:  jportanova@ncdot.gov